Motsoaledi power outage: operators on site investigating cause
City Power says its operators are on site investigating the cause of the electricity outage affecting customers in Motsoaledi. The update, published at 12:38 SAST on 9 October, identifies the interruption as reported on 8 October. It gives no confirmed cause, affected customer total or estimated restoration time.

Status of this incident
Current status unconfirmed
Last known status: confirmed by the source · 9 October, 12:38 SAST: operators are on site investigating the Motsoaledi outage reported on 8 October; cause and restoration time remain unknown.
Source moment: Oct 9, 2026, 10:38 AM UTC (12:38 PM local time)
In 20 seconds
City Power acknowledged an unplanned Motsoaledi outage on 8 October.
The 9 October bulletin confirms operators are on site investigating the cause.
The cause, exact onset, customer total and restoration estimate remain unknown.
What City Power reported in Motsoaledi
The statement confirms that City Power was aware of an unplanned interruption in Motsoaledi. It does not identify individual streets, a feeder or a complete list of affected properties. The number of customers without electricity is therefore unknown. The named location should not be read as evidence that every home in the area lost power.
The notice comes from City Power’s Lenasia Service Delivery Centre. That service-centre reference identifies the operator’s reporting context; it does not establish an outage across Lenasia or connect this interruption to other nearby events. The available evidence contains no independent address-level confirmation of which customers were affected.
What the sources tell us, and what they do not
- Reported area
- Motsoaledi; Lenasia Service Delivery Centre
- Operator response
- Operators on site investigating the cause
- Affected customers
- Count unknown
- Cause
- Not stated
- Restoration estimate
- Not stated
Operators on site; cause remains unknown
The initial notice on 8 October said operators would investigate after completing their existing task. The 9 October bulletin now confirms that operators are still on site investigating the cause. This is a confirmed change from the earlier dispatch plan. It does not establish that a fault has been identified, repairs have started or electricity has returned.
The latest statement was published at 12:38 SAST, equivalent to 10:38 UTC, on 9 October. City Power says the outage was reported the previous day, 8 October. That report date is not a precise start time. The available statements contain no restoration claim or deadline, and they cannot establish the supply at every address. Investigation remains the latest supported response; the cause and next repair step need a further operator update.
Planning essential backup power
The runtime calculator compares essential device demand with battery capacity. The internet backup planner helps plan power for a router and modem, while the backup essentials guide provides a preparation checklist. These tools support household planning; they do not measure local electricity supply or establish a restoration deadline.