Language and regionEnglish · South AfricaZA
IDBahasa IndonesiaIndonesiaThis page is not availableDKDanskDanmarkThis page is not availableDEDeutschDeutschlandThis page is not availableATDeutschÖsterreichThis page is not availableCHDeutschSchweizThis page is not availableAUEnglishAustraliaThis page is not availableCAEnglishCanadaThis page is not availableINEnglishIndiaThis page is not availableENEnglishInternationalIEEnglishIrelandThis page is not availableNGEnglishNigeriaThis page is not availablePHEnglishPhilippinesThis page is not availableZAEnglishSouth AfricaGBEnglishUnited KingdomThis page is not availableUSEnglishUnited StatesThis page is not availableAREspañolArgentinaThis page is not availableESEspañolEspañaThis page is not availableMXEspañolMéxicoThis page is not availableCAFrançaisCanadaThis page is not availableFRFrançaisFranceThis page is not availableCHFrançaisSuisseThis page is not availableITItalianoItaliaThis page is not availableCHItalianoSvizzeraThis page is not availableNLNederlandsNederlandThis page is not availableNONorsk bokmålNorgeThis page is not availablePLPolskiPolskaThis page is not availableBRPortuguêsBrasilThis page is not availablePTPortuguêsPortugalThis page is not availableFISuomiSuomiThis page is not availableSESvenskaSverigeThis page is not availableTRTürkçeTürkiyeThis page is not availableGRΕλληνικάΕλλάδαThis page is not availableJP日本語日本This page is not available
← Outage news

South Africa / ELECTRICITY SUPPLY

Motsoaledi power outage: operators on site investigating cause

City Power says its operators are on site investigating the cause of the electricity outage affecting customers in Motsoaledi. The update, published at 12:38 SAST on 9 October, identifies the interruption as reported on 8 October. It gives no confirmed cause, affected customer total or estimated restoration time.

Johannesburg skyline viewed from a road interchange
Johannesburg · File photo

Status of this incident

Current status unconfirmed

Last known status: confirmed by the source · 9 October, 12:38 SAST: operators are on site investigating the Motsoaledi outage reported on 8 October; cause and restoration time remain unknown.

Source moment: 09 Oct 2026, 10:38 UTC (12:38 local time)

In 20 seconds

  1. City Power acknowledged an unplanned Motsoaledi outage on 8 October.

  2. The 9 October bulletin confirms operators are on site investigating the cause.

  3. The cause, exact onset, customer total and restoration estimate remain unknown.

What City Power reported in Motsoaledi

The statement confirms that City Power was aware of an unplanned interruption in Motsoaledi. It does not identify individual streets, a feeder or a complete list of affected properties. The number of customers without electricity is therefore unknown. The named location should not be read as evidence that every home in the area lost power.

The notice comes from City Power’s Lenasia Service Delivery Centre. That service-centre reference identifies the operator’s reporting context; it does not establish an outage across Lenasia or connect this interruption to other nearby events. The available evidence contains no independent address-level confirmation of which customers were affected.

What the sources tell us, and what they do not

Reported area
Motsoaledi; Lenasia Service Delivery Centre
Operator response
Operators on site investigating the cause
Affected customers
Count unknown
Cause
Not stated
Restoration estimate
Not stated

Operators on site; cause remains unknown

The initial notice on 8 October said operators would investigate after completing their existing task. The 9 October bulletin now confirms that operators are still on site investigating the cause. This is a confirmed change from the earlier dispatch plan. It does not establish that a fault has been identified, repairs have started or electricity has returned.

The latest statement was published at 12:38 SAST, equivalent to 10:38 UTC, on 9 October. City Power says the outage was reported the previous day, 8 October. That report date is not a precise start time. The available statements contain no restoration claim or deadline, and they cannot establish the supply at every address. Investigation remains the latest supported response; the cause and next repair step need a further operator update.

Planning essential backup power

The runtime calculator compares essential device demand with battery capacity. The internet backup planner helps plan power for a router and modem, while the backup essentials guide provides a preparation checklist. These tools support household planning; they do not measure local electricity supply or establish a restoration deadline.

Privacy