Tshepisong power outage: burnt jumpers affect Lines A and B
City Power says burnt jumpers have caused an electricity outage affecting Lines A and B at Tshepisong Switching Station. In its 21 October 2026 update, the utility says its technical team is on site and both lines will remain off until repairs are completed. It gives no estimated restoration time.

Status of this incident
Power outage confirmed
Last known status: confirmed by the source · City Power reports Lines A and B off for repairs to burnt jumpers; no restoration deadline stated.
Source moment: 21 Oct 2026, 07:54 UTC (09:54 local time)
In 20 seconds
City Power identifies burnt jumpers at Tshepisong Switching Station as the cause affecting Lines A and B.
The technical team is on site; the operator says both lines will remain off until repairs are completed.
The outage onset, affected-customer total and restoration deadline are not stated.
What City Power has confirmed
The operator names Tshepisong Switching Station and specifically identifies Lines A and B as affected. Its explanation is burnt jumpers. The statement does not describe what caused the jumpers to burn or provide a wider technical account, so it does not establish theft, weather damage or any other underlying trigger.
No number of affected customers, households or people is supplied. The source also gives no street-level footprint. The two named lines define the scope of this report; they do not establish that every property in Tshepisong has lost electricity. Supply at individual addresses has not been independently checked.
What the sources tell us, and what they do not
- Location
- Tshepisong Switching Station, Lines A and B
- Reported cause
- Burnt jumpers, according to City Power
- Repair status
- Technical team on site; lines remain off until repairs are completed
- Restoration estimate
- Not stated; outage onset and customer total also unknown
Repairs have no stated completion time
City Power says its technical team is on site and that Lines A and B will remain off until repairs are completed. That condition is not a restoration deadline. The statement gives no clock time for finishing the work, and it does not report completed repairs or restored supply.
The operator posted the update at 09:54:53 SAST on 21 October, equivalent to 07:54:53 UTC. This is the publication time of the statement, rather than a confirmed outage start. The exact onset remains unknown. There is also no direct evidence linking this fault to earlier Tshepisong incidents, including the Line D interruption reported on 19 October. Those incidents cannot supply a missing start time or repair history for Lines A and B.
Planning around an unknown duration
For essential devices, the runtime calculator can help compare battery capacity with demand. The internet backup planner covers connectivity needs. Neither tool confirms electricity at a particular address or predicts when network repairs will finish.